Sunday, 29 March 2015

Kraftwerk - Paradiso, Amsterdam, The Netherlands - 22.01.2012 8Flac)

Huge Thanks to ianmacd for taping and sharing on Dime.

Original Info File:

The Catalogue 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Concert 7 of 8: The Mix


Type: Audience master, recorded 2 metres back from the front of the stage,
      dead centre, between Henning Schmitz and Fritz Hilpert.

Source: Factory-matched pair of Schoeps CCM 41V microphones (DINa mounted) ->
    Marantz PMD661 recorder with Oade Concert Mod
    (-18 dB gain/44.1 kHz/24 bit WAV)

Lineage: Audacity 2.0.6
       * Applied Bass and Treble Tool (-1 dB Bass, +6 dB Treble).
       * Amplified left channel by 0.3 dB.
       * Applied Click Removal effect to attenuate applause (Threshold
         200/Max Spike Width 40).
       * Applied variable envelope amplification across recording for
         consistent listening experience.
       * Added fades.
       * Split tracks.
       * Converted to 16 bit.
     -> FLAC (compression level 8) [libFLAC 1.3.1 20141125]

Taper: ianmacd


01. [00:43] [intro]
02. [03:10] Numbers
03. [03:17] Computer World
04. [06:05] Home Computer
05. [05:51] Computer Love
06. [06:36] Airwaves
07. [00:22] Intermission
08. [01:09] News
09. [00:31] Geiger Counter
10. [06:31] Radioactivity
11. [14:30] Autobahn
12. [02:58] Pocket Calculator
13. [03:19] Dentaku
14. [05:28] Spacelab
15. [03:51] The Model
16. [05:26] The Man-Machine
17. [04:28] Tour De France 1983
18. [00:27] Prologue
19. [03:53] Tour De France Étape 1
20. [01:05] Chrono
21. [05:32] Tour De France Étape 2
22. [03:20] Trans-Europe Express
23. [00:46] Abzug
24. [03:17] Metal On Metal
25. [01:05] [encore break]
26. [07:48] The Robots¹
27. [01:26] [encore break]
28. [03:15] Expo 2000
29. [04:56] Planet Of Visions
30. [02:32] Boing Boom Tschak
31. [02:45] Techno Pop
32. [08:00] Musique Non Stop

Total running time: 124:36

¹ Band off-stage, replaced by robots. Music pre-programmed.


It's the penultimate night of Kraftwerk's eight show residency at the
Paradiso and the band's 1991 anthology of rerecorded and rearranged songs,
'The Mix', is receiving the spotlight treatment.

Or is it? A little explanation is required here.

Technically, the album is integrally performed, because all of its songs
feature in tonight's set. However, the songs are simply interwoven with the
others performed this evening, effectively expanding the 'best of' segment to
fill the entire concert.

For example, tonight's show gets under way with 'Numbers', a song that's not
even on 'The Mix'. And all but two of the album's songs ('Dentaku' and 'Pocket
Calculator') are performed live every night, anyway.

An interesting consequence of this is that the show ends up featuring all of
the 'Computer World' songs that were performed when that was the spotlight
album. So, in a sense, this effectively becomes a second 'Computer World'

Tonight is notable for Hütter playing a bum note at 4'54" into
'Radioactivity', the recovery from which causes him to forget to sing the next

The 14 minute 'Autobahn' makes a welcome return to the set tonight. It's so
superior to the 8 minute version that there's really no comparison.

The big surprise tonight, however -- if it can be called that -- is that 'Expo
2000' opens the second encore, in what will turn out to be its only
performance of the entire residency. The reworked version of 'Expo 2000',
'Planet Of Visions', has been performed other nights, but tonight the original
is played before it eventually also morphs into 'Planet Of Visions'.

Earlier in the week, I was thinking that eight of these shows ought to be
enough for anyone, but it's amazing how habit-forming the experience of
attending one of these residencies is. I'm starting to think that Saturday
night is going to be a big disappointment when there's no Kraftwerk gig to
attend at the Paradiso. This has become a lifestyle.

That said, I'm still not tempted to travel to repeat the experience in some
other European city. It's just too big a commitment.

Once again, the recording was made under the same conditions and with the same
parameters as the previous ones. The mastering is again (almost) identical, as
is the resultant listening experience.

Scans of the ticket and both sides of the glasses envelope are also included.


1 comment: