Thursday, 21 January 2016

Lydia Lunch's Retrovirus - (Le) Poisson Rouge, New York, USA - 23.08.2015 (Flac)

 Thanks to the original uploader.

Original Info File:

taper: inez
source: AT831 (SP-CMC-2) > SP-SPSB-6 > sony PCM-M10 (24/48)
location: dead center ~ 12 ft from the stage (2nd row of tables)
mastering (BLG): Adobe Audition > iZotope Ozone 5
tracking (inez): Audacity

What a treat for a Sunday night! Lydia continues to kick our ass pretty hard!! This was intense and intensely spectacular. She is an incredible performer. I should also mention that Weasel could be a one-man show in his own right, and it amazes me how a person of his size manages to do what he does on a tiny stage without basically smashing the place and people around him into pieces. Also - they were all super-nice after the gig, everyone got whatever they wanted signed and all that jazz.

Now, I am a total noob for the occasion: I have not seen Retrovirus outfit before - AND I never taped at LPR - oddly enough. In fact, I have not experienced their ‘GA seating’ arrangement before, only standing, and the line on their website about ‘being escorted to your seats’ which implied I may have no choice (!) did not sound too encouraging. HOWEVER - when I arrived at doors-time - basically there were only maybe 6-8 people in queue and I had the entire venue of tables to choose from. I noticed that in addition to the usual 2 hanging stacks of speakers, there was one dead center - so I positioned myself in that very center about 10-12 ft from the stage so that this speaker is facing me. A compromise between being close and getting the sound right (I know I know - I just can’t be in the back..). And I think it worked! I have run into oddest sound issues in smaller venues lately - I think LPR sound guys know what the are doing!

Anyway - long story short - a spectacular performance. Buy the record - URGE TO KILL - and go see them live! I definitely will if I see them are coming to NYC again.

Line-up: Lydia Lunch (vocals)
Weasel Walter (guitar)
Tim Dahl (bass)
Bob Bert (drums)

00. Intro chat by Lydia
01. Snakepit Breakdown
02. 3X3
03. Mechanical Flattery
04. Love Split With Blood
05. Some Boys
06. Dead Me You Beside
07. Fields Of Fire
08. Still Burning
09. Tied And Twist
10. Afraid Of Your Company
11. Black Juju [Alice Cooper]
12. The Gospel Singer
13. Frankie Teardrop

total time: 1:16:45

**Please support the artists!! Buy their official releases and go see them live**
**Please do not share in lossy formats and never sell!!**!V8F1xSxS!cyc-sRG4nfMfxNqTYt96fYhdPZoAcCSq-8C592hu2A8

No comments:

Post a Comment