Thursday, 21 January 2016

The Slits - Effenaar, Eindhoven, Netherlands - 14.06.1981 (Flac)

Thanks to  Egg_Crisis for sending me this recording to share here.

Original Info File:
Cassette(audience,unknown gen,bought in Camden Market 1992) > wav > Groove Mechanic(dehiss) > wav > Soundforge(normalise L & R channels) > wav > CDWave(split tracks on sector boundaries) > wav > flac(6)

This is really fantastic quality, although there's still some hiss - I couldn't remove it all.

There's an annoying buzz during the last 3 minutes of Earthbeat.

They also played at the Venus Festival at Berlin Tempodrom this month, which has already been on Dime so I won't be encoding my cassette, which is a bit chewed up anyway! (EDIT: Just saw it's being reseeded right now!)

I don't have an exact date for this one, but to satisfy the mods that it doesn't contain any officially released material, should they want to know, the only officially released live recordings from 1981 are one song from their final gig at Hammersmith Palais on 30th Nov 1981, and I'll be seeding that next with that one song removed.

Some funny comments from Ari as usual.  She really doesn't like the venue and she's not afraid of saying so!


01. Walk About
02. Man Next Door
03. I Heard It Through The Grapevine
04. Difficult Fun
05. Fade Away
06. In The Beginning There Was Rhythm
07. Animal Space
08. Earthbeat
09. E Na Tu (aka The Marriage Song) (end missing, fades out)

Length: 61:18

Lineup: ARI UP-vocals, VIV ALBERTINE-guitar, TESSA POLLITT-bass, BRUCE SMITH-drums

Egg_Crisis, 2007.


1 comment: