Wednesday, 11 June 2014

Linton Kwesi Johnson- UBC SUB Ballroom, Vancouver, BC, Canada - 28.04.1984 (Flac)

Thanks to dave Sez for sending me this one to share here.

L.K.J. live shows are really rare, and in this excellent 1984 performance, the poet sizzles. He's also backed by Dennis Bovell's Dub Band, so that's icing on the cake. Enjoy!

Notes from the original uploader:

Prepare to skank the night away, have your spirit uplifted and your mind stimlutated. LKJ's message is as timely now as ever. This is one of the most intense performances I've seen by anybody, anywhere. LKJ electrified the entire room when he burst onto the stage from the wings and tore into "Want Fi Goh Rave," and the intensity built from there. This recording sounds great to my ears, even though it's the offspring of the lowly but dependable D-6. Blackbeard's bass resonates nicely, and the Dub Band is ultra-tight.

Couple of technical things: There are several abrupt cuts in between songs. A little bit was lost in "Come Wi Goh Dung Deh" during a tape flip. There's another small cut in the Instrumental Outro.

This show requires two discs. Sorry I didn't name the tracks accordingly, but I hadn't listened to it in quite a while and I was surprised when it turned out to be two discs rather than one. Also, I did not create separate tracks for LKJ's rather lengthy intros to each song. Apologies if that's a problem. I'm not sure about some of the titles of the Dub Band tunes.Any assistance would be greatly appreciated! Oh, and there's a scan of the handbill and a ticket stub for those who like to make artwork.

Set the subwoofer level to max and crank up the volume!

Technical Information:

Artist: Linton Kwesi Johnson
Location: UBC SUB Ballroom, Vancouver BC, Canada
Date: April 28, 1984

Audio Codec(s): FLAC
Encoding: Lossless
Rip: Cassette rip, split tracks
Avg. bitrate: 923 kb/s
Sample rate: 44100 Hz
Bits per sample: 16
Channels: 2
File size: 683 MB
Length: 1:43:34


01. Introduction by George Barrett (0:55)
02. Instrumental (2:14)
03. Dub Master (5:46)
04. Come with Me (4:44)
05. Reggae High (4:18)
06. Brain Damage (3:47)
07. Want Fi Goh Rave (4:55)
08. It Noh Funny (3:44)
09. Dread Beat An' Blood (3:23)
10. Independant Intavenshan (4:07)
11. Reggae Fi Peach (3:30)
12. Inglan Is A Bitch (2:58)
13. Di Black Petty Booshwah (3:53)
14. Reality Poem (6:09)
15. Come Wi Goh Dung Deh (2:21)
16. Reggae Fi Dada (4:06)
17. Band Introductions (3:29)
18. Di Eagle An' Di Bear (4:59)
19. Di Great Insohreckshan (4:26)
20. Wat About Di Workin' Claas? (6:23)
21. All Wi Doin Is Defendin (4:43)
22. Sonny's Lettah (4:59)
23. Reggae Fi Radni (4:27)
24. Making History (3:29)
25. Fite Dem Back (2:50)
26. Instrumental Outro (2:59)

Thanks to the late great


1 comment:

  1. Thank you very much for sharing!
    Don Julian