Sunday, 6 September 2015

PIL - The Studio, Bristol, UK - 08.11.1983 (Flac)

Very good soundboard. Thanks to the original uploader.


01. Intro
02. Public Image
03. Low Life
04. Annalisa
05. Religion
06. Memories
07. Chant
08. Solitaire
09. The Flowers Of Romance
10. Anarchy In The U.K.
11. This Is Not A Love song
12. Attack

bristol 83


  1. Many thanks for this, circle - a great-sounding recording and quite a rare one. Some info from Fodderstomp: this is the much-maligned "Cabaret Band" line-up fixed at very short notice for the Japanese and European tours after Levene left (last gig with him April 4, quit PiL in May). Jah Wobble's replacement Pete Jones had also left in April, facing Lydon and Atkins with a Japanese tour in less than a month and no band. After intensive auditioning, American session musicians were hired and produced the "Live in Tokyo" LP recorded in July during the tour. The Japan tour line-up was John Lydon - vocals, Joseph Guida - guitar, Louis Bernardi - bass, Tom Zvoncheck - keyboards, Martin Atkins - drums. Meanwhile Levene was working on the last PiL studio recordings to involve him or Pete Jones. After the band's return to Europe, Guida was fired and then re-hired, and Zvoncheck replaced by Arthur Stead who would play keyboards for the band only from October-December 1983. This November 1983 gig would more or less coincide with Levene's unauthorized release of the reworked PiL studio recordings under the title "Commercial Zone".

    Cheers, Dave Sez.

  2. Thanks very much